Jenn Pet Vet's Blog

Robo Jerry (I know he looks real, but Jerry is a really a high tech robot) March 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jennifer Forsyth, VMD @ 9:02 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

 

Just in case you’ve been wondering where I’ve been and what I’ve been doing this past week …

 

"Robo Jerry" - a life-like dog CPR robot

 

I was at the Penn Conference attending lectures on cardiology, ophthalmology, pain management, and emergency medicine.  The best part was Robo Jerry!  I had a lab this afternoon where I got to practice my life saving CPR skills on a robot named Robo Jerry.  I participated in two cardiac arrest scenarios: the first “dog” was an older German Shepherd Dog that collapsed from heart disease and the second “dog” was a one year old Pitbull that was hit by a car.  I was able to  perform CPR, inject life saving drugs, charge up the defibrillator paddles, and yell “clear.”  And all on a life-like mannequin that has a heart beat, breathes, and has a pulse.  Very cool!

 

You’ll be happy to know that both of my “dogs” were resuscitated successfully🙂

 

peace, love, and plenty of tail wags ~

 

Leave a Reply

