Jenn Pet Vet's Blog

My favorite essential oil products January 27, 2012

Filed under: Essential Oils — Jennifer Forsyth, VMD @ 1:51 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

My Favorite AromaDog Products

There are a lot of wonderful and safe products that utilize essential oils.  My favorites all come from AromaDog.  They also have terrific cat products (AromaCat) that utilize hydrosols instead of essential oils which are much safer for use in cats.  Aromadog has been creating their amazing products since 1998 and they care so much about the quality of their product that they even give the bottles some Reiki before they are sent out so that they are instilled with good intentions.  (Just a little aside about how our intentions can affect water: This video shows some of the crystal patterns produced when Masaru Emoto subjected different water samples to both good and bad thoughts – fascinating stuff)

 

To help my kids smell better, I use Ladies Man or She Devil.  Both come in sprays and soaps and they smell delicious with the one for the gents being spicy and clean while the one for the ladies has delicate floral notes.  And neither have that annoying (to people and pets) overwhelming perfumy smell.  For those unwanted doggy odors in my house or car I use I Don’t Stink So.

 

For parasite control I use Flea Flicker (the cat product is Scat! No Fleas) every day when the weather is warm and there is a potential for my dogs to get fleas or ticks.  And if my dogs do end up with a tick, I put a drop of Lyme Blaster on at the site where I removed the tick once a day until redness and swelling is gone (I usually only have to do it once on the first day).

 

And let’s not forget about our pet’s oral hygiene and take care of their teeth.  I use Bluto’s Yummy Gum Brush (the cat product is Purrly Whites) to keep my dogs gum tissue healthy and it really makes them all perfect for smooching.

 

Two products that I love to use while I’m at work are Chill-Out for the dogs and Cat Nap for the kitties.  These sprays really help to relax all of my nervous patients before they get their exam – and my clients swear that it also helps them to relax.  I use Chill-Out for my Dogue de Bordeaux, Margaux, during long car rides where she has a little bit of anxiety.  And it definitely relaxes my Chihuahua, Seaweed, during his thunderstorm phobia.  This would also be appropriate to use for dogs that have to deal with separation anxiety or other stressful situations.

 

For skin issues I use Hot Spot for any moist and red lesions that my dogs develop.  For minor cuts and scratches, my alternative to triple antibiotic ointment is Quick Fix for the dogs and Meow Ouch for the cats.  And there is also I Itch Not which helps with can help relieve itching – especially itching related to allergies.

 

As a veterinarian, I see a lot of coughing puppies and snotty kittens.  When I was raising a litter of puppies (their mom was dumped at the local animal shelter a week before she was due to whelp) they developed a mild cough.  Cough Drop saved they day for my coughing snotty nosed puppies and saved me from having to put them on antibiotics.  Immewnity Chest is the equivalent for my feline friends.

 

A cautionary note: if you have a sick dog or cat, always have them examined by a veterinarian as these products are not a substitute for proper diagnosis and treatment.

 

Leave a Reply

